LL Cool J Honored
 Posted: Saturday, June 3, 2006 03:00pm EDT
   Source: ASCAP
LL Cool J

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) will honor LL Cool J and Bill Withers at its 19th Annual Rhythm & Soul Music Awards on June 26, 2006. During the awards ceremony, LL Cool J will be presented with the ASCAP Golden Note Award and Bill Withers will receive the ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Heritage Award. The event honors the songwriters and publishers of the most performed ASCAP songs on the 2005 R&B, hip-hop and rap charts.

Since the 1985 release of his masterful debut album, Radio, the first Def Jam disc ever released, LL Cool J has amassed nine platinum-plus selling albums and eight gold singles. His chart-topping albums Bigger and Deffer, Walking With A Panther, 14 Shots To The Dome, G.O.A.T. and 10 have spawned several Number One hit singles including "I Need Love," "I'm That Type of Guy," "How I'm Comin'," and "Luv U Better." His 12th album, Todd Smith, was recently certified gold. He has won two Grammy Awards for his singles "Mama Said Knock You Out" and "Hey Lover," a duet with Boyz II Men, in addition to several MTV Video Music Awards, a NAACP Image Award and the Quincy Jones Award for Outstanding Career Achievements at the Soul Train Music Awards. During his 25-plus-year career he has worked with a wide array of producers including Trackmasters, The Neptunes, Rick Rubin, Marley Marl and Diddy. In addition to creating music, LL Cool J has co-starred in several films including Any Given Sunday, Deep Blue Sea, In Too Deep and Halloween H20: 20 Years Later as well as starring in the hit television sitcom In the House. His autobiography, I Make My Own Rules, was released in 1997 and his upscale clothing line was launched in 2004.

"LL Cool J is one of the most important figures in the history of hip-hop. He has weathered all the trends in the rap world and is as commercially viable today as he was when he started out in 1985," said ASCAP President and Chairman Marilyn Bergman. "We are very pleased to honor LL Cool J by adding his name to the very elite group of our Golden Note-winning songwriters and composers."

The ASCAP Golden Note Award is given to songwriters and composers who have achieved extraordinary milestones. Past recipients include Garth Brooks, Sean "Diddy" Combs, Jermaine Dupri, Jose Feliciano, Alan Jackson, Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis,
Jay-Z, Quincy Jones Tom Petty, Michael W. Smith, Mark Snow and Stevie Wonder among others.

Urban Celebrity News
Urban Celebrity News is an Entertainment News Company that focuses on African-American Celebrities
in Television, Movies, and Music.
©2006- Urban Celebrity News Network